10th Assembly: Abbas, Kalu Emerged Speaker And Deputy Speaker, Respectively

Tajudeen Abbas, the favored candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), has been elected as the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

After a roll call of the members-elect, Abbas secured the position of Speaker with 353 votes out of the 359 participating members in the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly. A significant majority of the members-elect openly declared their support for Abbas.

The Speaker race involved three contenders, and Abbas was expected to win by a simple majority over the others.

Meanwhile, Benjamin Kalu, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress for Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives in the 10th National Assembly, was unanimously supported by the members-elect. Kalu assumed the role of Deputy Speaker unopposed.

With no other nominations for the position, Sani Tambuwal, the Clerk to the National Assembly, promptly administered the oath of office to Kalu as the Deputy Speaker.

Related posts

Interior Minister Condemns Passport Waiting Time, Labels N5,000 ‘Compliance Fee’ Illegal

Waffi Tv

Tinubu Appoints 20 Federal Commissioners For NPC

Waffi Tv

Delta Speaker, Rt. Hon Guwor To Host Grand Thanksgiving And Reception

Waffi Tv

Leave a Comment