Gov Polls: APC Disowns List Containing Wike

The National Working Committee (NWC) led by Abdullahi Ganduje in the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has distanced itself from the list of National Campaign Councils for the governorship elections in Bayelsa, Imo, and Kogi.

Party spokesman, Felix Morka, in a statement on Tuesday night said: “The attention of the All Progressives Congress has been drawn to National Campaign Council Lists for the 11th November, 2023 Governorship Elections in Bayelsa, Kogi and Imo states in circulation in sections of the media. The lists are not official documents of the Party and should be disregarded.”

On Tuesday evening, the APC had established three National Campaign Councils for the upcoming governorship elections on November 11 in Bayelsa, Imo, and Kogi states.

In an interesting twist, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Minister, Nyesom Wike, who is a member of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), was listed as Number 6 on the Bayelsa Campaign Council by the APC. This raised eyebrows since he had already been named by the PDP in its own campaign council.

This isn’t the first time the APC found itself in such a controversy. On October 19, 2022, the party included a PDP chieftain and Senator, Senator Chimaroke Nnamani, in its Presidential Campaign Council. Nnamani, a former governor of Enugu state, was listed as Number 350 on the 422-member campaign council. However, after the list became widely known, the party reversed its decision and removed Nnamani.

Regarding the governorship campaign lists released by the APC, they appointed Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya, the Governor of Gombe State, to chair the Bayelsa Campaign Council; Cross River State Governor Bassey Otu as the head of the 138-member Imo Campaign Council, and Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State as the leader of the 135-member council for Kogi.

The co-chairmen for Kogi include Governors Babajide Sanwo-olu (Lagos), Umar Bago (Niger), and Uba Sani (Kaduna). In Imo, the co-chairmen are Ebonyi State Governor Francis Nwifuru, Deputy Speaker Benjamin Kalu, and Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha.

For Bayelsa, the co-chairmen are Defence Minister Mohammed Badaru, Senate President Godswill Akpabio, and Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Senator George Akume. However, it’s worth noting that the APC has disowned this list.


Note : To submit Press Releases, Statements, and Advert Inquiries for publication on Waffi blog (website) or Television 📺, please use the following contact details: You can send an email to or reach us via Whatsapp at 07068286500

Related posts

Gov Polls: INEC Vows To Upload Real-Time Results On IReV

Waffi Tv

Emefiele Sues DSS, Challenges Detention

Waffi Tv

Tinubu Orders Immediate Rescue Of Kidnapped Zamfara Students

Waffi Tv

Leave a Comment