Senate Clears Cardoso, Four Others As CBN Gov, Dep Govs

The Senate has officially approved the appointment of Dr. Olayemi Cardoso as the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), along with Mrs. Emem Usoro, Mr. Muhammad Dattijo, Mr. Philip Ikeazor, and Dr. Bala Bello as deputy governors of the CBN.

These actions were taken by the senators upon their return from a seven-week break. Senate President Godswill Akpabio urged dissatisfied lawmakers to reconcile and work together under his leadership.

President Bola Tinubu nominated Cardoso and the four deputy governors of the CBN on September 15 and subsequently submitted their names to the Senate for confirmation. Their confirmation means they will each serve a five-year term, which can be extended.


Note : To submit Press Releases, Statements, and Advert Inquiries for publication on Waffi blog (website) or Television 📺, please use the following contact details: You can send an email to or reach us via Whatsapp at 07068286500

Related posts

Guber Poll: Bayelsa Needs Selfless Leadership- LP Candidate

Waffi Tv

CBN Deputy Governor Obiora Arrested By DSS

Waffi Tv

Supreme Court Upholds Tinubu’s Election, Dismisses Atiku’s Appeal

Waffi Tv

Leave a Comment